Allergies

Q:
 I have Celiac Disease and my doctor says I cannot eat anything containing wheat/gluten...
A:
All of our seasonings are completely gluten free. All of our dry beans are naturally gluten free as well. 
(Click HERE for a great 15 BEAN SOUP Gluten Free recipe). We do occasionally package barley in our facility. 

Please send an e-mail to info@hurstbeans if you have additional questions.

Q:
Are there any soy beans or pasta in any of your products? If so, which ones are free of soy beans and pasta? I am allergic to soy beans and pasta.
A:
Many of our seasonings contain a soy protein, and are labeled if they do. We no longer package any pasta products. It is important to note that all of our products are packaged in the same facility and therefore have a small chance to come in contact with gluten during packaging.

Q: Does your seasoning have MSG (Monosodium Glutamate)?

A: (HFH seasonings have zero MSG)

HamBeens: There is no MSG added to any of our HamBeens seasoning packets. However less than 2% of this element naturally occurs in the hydrolyzed soy protein included in most of our seasonings. Hydrolyzed soy protein is created by adding hydrochloric acid to soy beans, and heating. This breaks down the protein. Sodium Hydroxide is then added to neutralize the acid. A natural byproduct of this process creates trace amounts of salt and glutamate. For a visual comparison: This amount, per serving, is so small that if you were to touch a pencil to paper and look at the dot created, it would still be smaller than that representation.

To sum up, MSG is not added to our products; however is a near negligible byproduct of hydrolyzed soy protein. If this is of concern to you, please feel free to omit the seasoning packet and use your favorite herbs and spices.

Q:
I am allergic to flour and wheat. Is there any of this in your ham seasoning?
A:
No.  There is not flour or wheat in the seasoning.The maltodextrin is made from corn. All of the ingredients listed on the package include the contents of the beans and the seasoning packet, but not the "suggested" additions.

Q:
I am allergic to garlic....is there any in the Ham Flavoring packet that comes with the 15 bean soup?
A:
After doing some research and confirmation to answer your question, I 
have learned that there is no garlic, in any form, in our ham seasoning.I have validated this answer with the manufacturers of our seasoning recipe and our head buyer of the seasoning. Please let us know if you have any other questions.

Q:
I am allergic to potato products. Do the seasoning packets in your bean products contain potato or Monosodium Glutamate which is derived partly from potato starch?
A:
There are no potato starches in any of the NK Hurst Seasoning Blends.  Please send and e-mail to info@nkhurst.com if you have additional questions.

Q:
I am extremely allergic to mustard, your package states spices and spice extract, is there any mustard in the seasoning packet?
A:
There is no mustard in our ham seasoning. Every ingredient in the bag is listed on the outside of the package.

Q:
My son is allergic to nuts. Is your 15 bean soup (chicken flavor) at risk of cross-contamination with nuts?
A:
There is absolutely no nut products used in our seasonings. Also, our beans do not come into contact with nuts at any time during harvest or packaging.